Skip to content

Belchin’ waffles

December 20, 2007
tags:

Last night I made waffles for the boys for dinner.  I was scared to death, since I’ve never made waffles before.  I’m not exactly Mario Batali.  Or Rachael Ray.  Or Cat Cora.  Or Alton Brown.  Or Bobby Flay.  Well, you get the idea… I can’t cook.  I’d have figured there would have been an emergency call placed to Luca Pizza.  People laugh at me for having Luca’s number stored in my cell phone. Now you know why I do.

All right, so any freakin’ monkey can realistically make waffles from a box of mix.  But when you’re the kind of “cook” that needs a recipe to boil water, making waffles- even from a mix- is a huge step.  I was quite proud of myself.  Ian had one and a half, and said he wanted more but he was just too full, and Adam- whom we can’t get to eat anything- ate a whole one himself.  I have to admit, they didn’t suck.

Even Dawn said they weren’t bad- she had part of the leftover waffle when she came home from work.  Again, I realize that pretty much anyone can make waffles from a mix, but the idea that “I made waffles” is a huge boost for me kitchen-wise.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2007 1:38 pm

    I didn’t know Luca made waffles.

    And congrats on mastering the waffle iron. I’ve never used ours. I can make some pancakes, tho.

    “Mmmm… waffle runoff.”

  2. Johann permalink
    December 23, 2007 8:02 am

    LMFAO @ “I didn’t know Luca made waffles.”

Something to say?

