Skip to content

Happy Two double-zero eight!

January 1, 2008

Happy New Year!

I hope everyone had a joyous and safe New Year celebration, wherever you are and however you celebrated. I would be curious to find out how much Alka-Seltzer gets consumed on New Year’s Day each year.

We had a nice get-together at my folks’ house. It was the four of us, my mom and dad, my best friend Doug, and my nieces Erin and Kathleen. We ate (way too much), drank (not very much at all- the midnight Asti was all the adult beverage I drank), burped a lot, had some really weird conversations, and played a wicked Chicken Foot Dominoes game that my dad ultimately won and won big. I got caught with the bitch lady twice, dag nabbit. Probably not a real “exciting” evening to most people, but I felt it was better than risking life and limb being out and about. I wouldn’t necessarily mind going to First Night Springfield or to one of the many local establishments for festivities, but there’s still the drive home in which you must avoid the yay-hoos. People tend to get stupid when alcohol is involved. Plus, I haven’t been able to build my tolerance for people in general back up yet. My previous job pretty well killed that.

My mom bought horns for the kids to blow at midnight, which they did for about 30 minutes afterward. Seemed more like a month. We stayed until about 1:00 or so, when Ian and Adam finally suffered meltdowns and decided they were ready to go to bed. So Dawn took them home, and I followed about 15 minutes later. Strangely enough, the boys were asleep when I got home.

Dawn and I both slept positively horribly last night. She said her problem was that she was so tired she couldn’t sleep. Myself, I had a dream in which I choked on something, then woke myself up about 3:30 by actually choking, and couldn’t get back to sleep. I dozed a couple times, but finally said “to hell with it” and got up around 9:30 or so. I told Dawn we should watch the boys today in shifts so the other one could nap. I’m not sure, but I don’t think she took me seriously. Oh well. Early bed time tonight.

Anyway, it’s a new year that is, with any luck, full of hope and promise. I hope you all make the best of it and have loads of success.

No comments yet

Something to say?

