Skip to content

If I could only find the right words to express my… um…

January 17, 2008
tags:

My “baby” brother works for the SJ-R as a copy editor. My understanding of his job is that he’s essentially a human spell-checker. I hope that does not offend him or his fellow editors- it was not my intention to come across as insulting and I could be way off the mark with what they actually do (I’m pretty much an idiot)- but I said that as I did because my brother really needs to be writing for the SJ-R. They just haven’t figured it out yet.

This morning’s A&E section contains his second official foray into the world of print journalism. It’s an article about The Lebowski Experience, a celebration of the movie The Big Lebowski, which will take place this Saturday at 2:00 at Strike & Spare West. This being perhaps my brother’s favoritest of all favorite movies of all time, he was a natural to write about this particular event. Apparently, 2/3 of the SpfldBloggers roster is planning on being there. Myself, I liked the movie enough that I’d like to go, but I haven’t watched it nearly enough yet- I’ve only seen it twice, and I’d just wind up embarrassing myself. Now if there was something like this for This is Spinal Tap

Hmmmmm…

Anyway, my brother is nothing short of a wordsmith. The man has a vocabulary that is absolutely… umm… aw hell, I can’t think of a word that means “massive”. He makes me feel like a first-grader most days. But then again, Ian, my resident second-grader, often makes me feel like a first-grader most days as well. Maybe there’s a common denominator there… anyway, the thing I really enjoy about Jeff’s writing is that he does not have this nothing-but-$10-words, “I’m SO much more intelligent than you” kind of writing style like so many writers do. I’m not singling anyone out, nationally or locally, I’m just making a broad generalization. And as we all know, all generalizations are true. 😀

His first article, which appeared in the SJ-R last July 8th, tooted the horn of the iPhone, which had just been released and for which Jeff stood in line for several hours to purchase. Unfortunately, I can’t link to the article without shelling out more money to the SJ-R. The cool thing about it- besides seeing his name listed as “Staff Writer”- was that reading the article was like having a conversation with him. I could very easily hear him describing the iPhone to me, word for word, exactly as he wrote the article. Maybe it’s the fact that I’m pretty much a S.F. (simple fucker, as we liked to call each other at my ex-job), but I greatly prefer someone “speaking” to me normally, as opposed to someone trying to impress and/or overwhelm me with their vast intelligence and extensive vocabulary.

But that’s just it about Jeff- he possesses large quantities of both and doesn’t let on that he has either. The man is freakin’ brilliant- a fact which is immediately evident upon conversing with him about such things as politics, or why the win is a virtually useless statistic in determining the true worth and/or value of a pitcher… or better yet, just ask him about the country’s dependence on petroleum-based products. I dare you. Yet throughout it all, he just talks to you as an equal- even if you’re “wrong” in his eyes- without getting all high-fallutin’ on you. Trust me- he and I have had some battles in the past. The little shit wins damn near every time. Pisses me off.

Anyway, I just wanted to call everyone’s attention to the A&E section of the SJ-R today, and say…

That’s my baby brother!!!!

And to the higher-ups at the paper:

Let the man start writing full-time for you. Your readers need to know what they’ve been missing.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2008 10:22 am

    Master-

    Yeah, I couldn’t agree more. I’ve been reading Jeff’s blog(s) since I first entered the Springfield blogging community, and I think he’s a tremendous writer. I always enjoy his “angle,” and I think his writing is very conversational. That’s a gift.

  2. January 17, 2008 10:26 am

    That’s a very nice thing to say. Your brother must be a hell of a guy. Handsome, too. 😀

  3. Johann permalink
    January 17, 2008 10:50 am

    John- well said and right on the money.

    AnonCom- well said and right on the money.

  4. SpringfieldZebra permalink
    January 17, 2008 6:08 pm

    As your baby brother’s Pop, I got some immediate pride in your “find the right words” post, both in your admiration of your baby brother’s skills as a writer, and the fact that I am in absolute agreement with you on your baby brother’s writing ability and have been for many years.

    I sometimes don’t always agree with his opinions…everyone has a right to express his own opinions. But it’s his innate ability to express those opinions in written word which impresses the hell out of me.

  5. Johann permalink
    January 17, 2008 6:23 pm

    Once again… well said and right on the money.

Trackbacks

  1. His turn « Master of my Domicile™… yeah, RIGHT

Something to say?

