Skip to content

I’m ready for spring already…

February 10, 2008

It’s been kind of a rough few days, folks.

In the Not a Big Deal in the Grand Scheme of Things Department, I’m having trouble understanding the current grammar lesson in my Spanish class- a lesson that happens to be vital to understand if one desires to speak Spanish properly, as I do.  Then in the Much More Relevant Problems Department, Ian’s got himself a nice little sinus infection with a touch of bronchitis, which came complete with an almost 3-hour stint in Prompt Care yesterday evening, during which we wound up having to have Dawn bring dinner to us.  Which, by the way, we were able to very leisurely eat and then wait probably another 30-40 minutes to be called in to see the doctor.  Finally, from the Holy Shit Department, we had a very scary near-tragedy unfold in my extended family in California.  I’m not going to get into that; suffice it to say that a hitman was involved.  Use your imagination after that.

I hate being cooped up in the house.  It’s one thing to choose not to go out and about; it sucks not being able to do so, for all intents and purposes.  The timing for my becoming a stay-home dad was nearly perfect for everything, save the weather.  It sucks that the Midwest’s climate is what it is.  I’m really feeling the urge to take the kids and head to the park or something.  But between the foot of snow last weekend, followed by the probably at least 3 inches of rain four days later, and now with it being so furkin’ cold today, it’s just not a good time to do that.  Yeah, we could still get all bundled up and go, but between the mud and how cold it is, it’s just not practical.  The boys would whine because it’s so cold, pissing me off, then I’d whine because it’s so cold, pissing them off, then I’d get more pissed off because they’re all pissed off… I think you see the progression.  So, they’re downstairs watching “Monsters, Inc.” for the 42nd time since 2008 began, and I’m telling you about my frustrations.

I realize it will be spring before I know it, and then summer, at which time I’m sure I’ll be bitching about how blasted hot it is and how miserable going to the park is.  Again, that’s just a result of what crappy climate the Midwest possesses.  And yeah, I know our winters are nothing compared to those in places like Minnesota, the mountainous regions out west, the northeast, etc., and I should be friggin’ grateful.  And truth be told, I am.  But it still doesn’t make it any easier.

I’ll get over it- again, it’ll be spring in no time and we can go to the park or Knight’s or other outdoor venue until we poop ourselves from fun.  Until then, however, I’m stuck in the house with two wild children who want and need to go outside, and a friggin’ disaster area of a house that needs cleaning that I just don’t have the energy or desire to do right now.  I’m just going to have to suck it up, make myself clean the house, and deal with my poor kids that just want so desperately to have some fun the way boys like to have fun- the way boys should be able to have fun:  running around outside mach 2, screaming at the top of their lungs, getting dirty, wrestling around until someone gets hurt, stuff like that.

I love being a stay-home dad.  Love it, love it, L-O-V-E it.  I’m so lucky and fortunate that I have this opportunity.  With any luck, I’ll be able to make it a permanent gig.  Not very likely, but one never knows.  I just wish I would have been able to start during the spring or fall.  I can take some solace in the fact that the steroid junkies baseball players are slowly beginning to report to spring training, which means baseball season will be starting in a couple months again, and the warmer weather will be upon us, which means all will be right in my little world again.

Until then, I just have to find ways to keep my kids- and my bride- happy and my house clean or at least tidy, hopefully without going insane in the mean time.  I’m not much fun to be around right now.  Even less so than usual.  I’ll work on it, I promise.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2008 2:05 pm

    Thanks for putting me in your blogroll!

  2. Johann permalink
    February 14, 2008 6:33 pm

    Any time, my friend!!

Trackbacks

  1. Birthday recap « Master of my Domicile™… yeah, RIGHT

Something to say?

