Skip to content

Busy Saturday

February 17, 2008

So yesterday we got Ian signed up for baseball. First time ever. And it’s coach-pitch. I am really concerned that I should have had him in tee-ball first since he’s never played before, but given the fact that he was in leg braces all last summer, that wasn’t exactly an option. Under-developed hammies. I hope he’s ready for it. I don’t want him to feel so far in over his head that he decides he hates it and wants to quit after the second game. Because I’m sure there’s going to be at least a couple kids (there’s at least a couple on every team) whose fathers have been playing baseball with them since they were… I dunno… embryos, and therefore feel they are far, FAR superior to everyone else in the league- and let everyone know it- and I’m a tad concerned that, since Ian’s never played before other than just messing around in the back yard, he may get ridiculed. Kids can be some ruthless, mean little shits sometimes.

The other thing I’m concerned about is whether Ian gets one of these “win or you guys are a bunch of pussies” kinds of coaches. That’s what really pisses me off about kids’ sports nowadays. I mean, yeah, 35 years ago when I started out in baseball, there were that type of coach around, but it seems like there’s just more and more of it anymore. And even worse are the friggin’ parents. Beer swilling fight-starting hyper-swearing bunch of idiots. And the dads can be just as bad. (Oh come now, ladies- go to a 7-year-olds soccer game and tell me some of those soccer moms aren’t frightening. Not to mention embarrassing their poor kids for life.) I really almost think they should ban all parents from the games. Those kids are nervous enough without having to endure listening to their parents scream obscenities at them, their teammates, their coaches, their opponents, and the umpires for 90 minutes.

But back to coaches. I really hope Ian gets a decent coach- one who realizes that A, these kids are here to learn the game of baseball; 2, that there is such a thing as sportsmanship- and that’s a good thing; and D, that they are ONLY SEVEN YEARS OLD. It kills me how some of these friggin’ coaches think they’re Joe Torre or Tony LaRussa in Game 7 of the World Series. Don’t get me wrong- winning is good. To me, if you’re not going to play to at least try to win, then you shouldn’t bother playing. That being said, however, if you’re not enjoying it, then it makes the winning irrelevant. Does that make me a pussy or a wimp or soft or whatever word you’re using? It does? Really? Well, screw you, Sunshine- you’re wrong. I don’t care what it is you’re doing, whether it’s baseball, golf, scrapbooking, tennis, cooking, gardening… doesn’t matter. Even if you suck on ice at it, as long as you enjoy it, it’s fun. Take me and bowling (see below). Conversely, if you’re the best in the world at something but don’t get any enjoyment out of it, then it’s time to give it up. People put way too much emphasis on winning and/or being the best nowadays. I want my kids to have a desire to win and be the best they can, but I expect them to understand and to practice fairness and sportsmanship.

Climbing down off THAT little soapbox… sorry about that.

Anyway, so after dinner last night (mmmmm… French toast and snausages) we more or less on the spur of the moment decided to go bowling at the suggestion of my sister-in-law Denise’s husband Mark. We went over and met up with them and visited for a little while, and then headed to Strike & Spare West and met up with D&M’s long-time friend Bob for some games. I haven’t bowled in probably 3-4 years, and before that, I can’t remember. So needless to say, I sucked. Hard. With a load slurping noise. But it was awesome. Ian beat me both games, the first by one pin and the second by 15, if I remember. So Denise came and picked up Maggie (D&M’s daughter) and Ian, and Dawn, Bob, Mark, and I stayed and rolled some more. I actually broke 100 that 3rd game. 104, or 108, or something like that. After that game, Dawn decided she was going to take the boys home and get them to bed (it was pushing 10:00), so Bob, Mark, and I stayed for 2 more games and pitchers of Michelob Amber Bock.

I finished with about an 83 and a 61 or something along that line. Really, REALLY stunk it up. Bob and Mark were around 150-170 all night… Mark’s high game was a 202. I sucked SO bad I got beat by my 7-year-old son and 6-year-old niece. But I had a friggin’ blast. I think what I’m going to ultimately do is get my ball filled and re-drilled, get some decent bowling shoes, and go more often than once every few years. I need to work on getting a rhythm. Mark said I rolled differently almost every time I went up there. Bent my knees, didn’t bend my knees. Went quick, went slow. I need to develop some good mechanics. But again, I also need to go more often than once every few years.

In the mean time, I will continue to suck ass at bowling but have a great time doing it. It’s fun. And now that the Anti-Smoking Nazis got their way, it’s a much more enjoyable environment. Plus, you can drink beer.

Which, sometimes, actually helps. It helped me stay on an even keel about the fact that I suck at bowling so badly.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Marjorie permalink
    February 17, 2008 8:32 pm

    You know you come by it honestly. When Dad and I bowled in a league in Laramie when I was PG with Jennifer, I got the award for the most improved bowler, and my average was only 88. You can imagine how low it must have been before I ‘improved.” I really, really am lousy at any sport except tennis and badminton, and I haven’t played either of those in about 3 decades. I don’t even do well using Wii.

Something to say?

