Skip to content

Various germs and Greek myths

February 20, 2008

Well, let’s caught up on the cootie patrol in our house.

Ian just finished up Day 10 of antibiotics for a sinus infection. Adam has been having the kind of gurgly snot sinus thing going on for a few days. Dawn finally broke down and went to the doctor last night… turns out she has influenza and the start of an ear infection. Eeeeewwwww!! What I have been told since childhood is apparently confirmed: girls DO have cooties. I knew she felt crappy when she spent a good portion of Sunday in bed. That’s not like her at all. She’s one of those “there’s daylight a-wastin’, gotta be doing something productive at all times” kinds of people. Drives me nuts some days.

As for me, I’m getting over a self-diagnosed and self-treated sinus infection. Nyquil… yummy. I know it’s a sinus infection because I’ve had four in the last couple years. It just feels like a sinus infection. Went to the doctor twice, but I haven’t really gotten better any “faster” with antibiotics than when I just self-medicate with Nyquil and pseudoephedrine. And maybe a frothy yellow beverage or twelve to help “ease the pain”. Might not help but it can’t hurt. I think I’m pulling out of it anyway. At this point it’d be a waste of money and about 3 hours to go to Prompt Care. Even more so than usual. Besides, doctors are for sick people.

AchillesMy big problem right now, however, is that my left heel has been posi-lutely killing me for almost a day now. I have no idea what I’ve done, but I could barely friggin’ walk when I got up this morning. I imagine it’s just something that will get better with time, or if I would exercise, or whatever. Holy shit, it hurts, though. I’ve never had an Achilles problem, so I don’t know what that feels like, but if I did do something to my Achilles tendon, then the myth makes so much more sense to me now.

I still have a sore groin muscle due to 5 games of bowling on Saturday (and because I’m out of shape). I have a bad left knee that has already been scoped once and will need at least scoped again fairly soon- if not eventual major reconstruction- seeing as how it usually hurts like a motherf the dickens most days. I have some disk issues since, because I’ve limped for so many years due to my knee, my pelvis is out of alignment and that’s compressing a couple disks in my spine. Now I’ve got this heel thing.

Good thing I’m not a friggin’ horse.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. SpringfieldZebra permalink
    February 24, 2008 11:41 am

    Hey, you can always try the Chiropractor!!

  2. Johann permalink
    February 25, 2008 7:58 am

    Hell no. I’d sooner go to a witch doctor. Or some tree-hugger herbalist. Chiro’s are quacks.

Something to say?

