Skip to content

So’d ya feel it?

April 18, 2008

Around 4:38am or so this morning, we had an earthquake here in Central Illinois.  Apparently, it was centered in Salem, and was of a 5.2 magnitude.  It was kinda cool.  When we first noticed it, Dawn and I each thought the other was shaking the bed.  Then the dressers started rattling, and I’m like, “earthquake… nice”.  I was sure Ian would have gotten up and freaked out, but we heard nothing out of him until this morning when he asked, “did we have an earthquake?”

I’ve felt three earthquakes now- this one last night, the one we had roughly 20 years or so ago here, and then one in California when I was around 17 or so.  At no time was I ever close enough to the epicenter to be in any danger or feel any real wrath, but I’m quite fine with that, too.

From my limited (and far-from-real-danger) experiences, earthquakes are kinda cool, but I can’t say I’m ready for a stronger or a closer one.  Although, if we do have another, the least it could do is hit during daytime hours.  I couldn’t get back to sleep this morning.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2008 8:31 am

    10-4.

  2. Johann permalink
    April 18, 2008 8:43 am

    Come come, elucidate your thoughts.

Something to say?

