Skip to content

Oops

April 29, 2008
tags:

Okay, so Dawn pointed out to me the other night that I have neglected to mention Ian’s first piano recital here. D’oh!

That Father of the Year award just keeps sailing farther and farther away.  Sighhhhh…

It was a week ago Sunday, on the 20th. Having never actually been to one, I wasn’t real sure what to expect, so I pretty much just figured that there would be 60 kids all playing one of the same 3 or 4 songs. Turned out, while there were naturally some repeats, there really weren’t any songs that got played over and over- at least to the extent that you’ve got an obnoxious earworm the rest of the day. I think there were only about maybe 4 kids that played the song Ian played, “18th Century Dance”. You had your “Alouette”s and your “On Top of Old Smokey”s and your “Ode to Joy”s, and then there were a few others mixed in that the titles of which kind of escape me now.

Anyway, it was a lot easier to endure than most of the horror stories I’ve heard about children’s music recitals. They had the kids separated into age groups of 12 and under and 13 and up. My niece Maggie was the 6th or 7th to play (she did lovely, thank you very much), and then Ian played his song about 4 or 5 kids later. Then my nephew Jacob was among the last of the 12-and-unders to play his song. He did very well also. Some of the 13-and-ups, I could not believe what I was hearing. There was a 14-year-old that played Beethoven’s “Für Elise” (a nice simple tune…NOT) quite beautifully. I was guessing the next kid after him had to be thinking, I ain’t following that!. I would have been.

I thought they did the whole thing well. The “emcee”, who is the organist at the church that hosted the recital, “interviewed” each kid briefly before they played- asked them their name, how long they’ve been taking lessons, things like that. The guy was pretty comical, actually. Then he had each one take a piece of paper and read, to the audience, these absolutely horrific jokes. Horrific even for kid-friendly, being-told-in-a-church jokes. Except I did have to chuckle- nay, even guffaw- at the joke Ian told:

What do you get when you cross Spongebob Squarepants with Albert Einstein?

(Answer appears in the comments section.)

Hey, there could be someone that hasn’t heard it- I don’t want to ruin it for them.

Anyway, I was extremely proud of how well Ian did. He wasn’t owning up to it, but he was extremely nervous. But he got up there and played like a champ. He did stumble a little bit, but recovered quickly and got through it. He even said after he got done playing that he “made a couple mistakes but tried to make it look like it was part of the song”. So evidently, he relaxed enough at some point. I’m quite glad- I’m afriad he’ll wind up like his old man always was- I used to get so worked up about screwing up a music performance (any music performance) that I usually wound up inadvertently willing myself to do so. But he conquered his little nervous demon, at least at this one recital, and I was extremely proud of him. He seems to have both Dawn’s and my love of music, but thank goodness he appears to possess Dawn’s ability. Me, I played several instruments and sucked at every one of them. I just have always really enjoyed music and, if nothing else, I hope I can transfer an appreciation of music to my kids, if not the desire.

The talent, they better rely upon Momma.

Anyway, great job Ian, great job Yakob, great job Maggs, and great job to all the kids (and adults too) that performed at the recital.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Johann permalink
    April 29, 2008 8:54 am

    Answer to joke: Spongebob Smarty-Pants.

    Hey, I never said it was funny. I said I laughed. If you made the assumption that the joke was funny, that’s on you.

  2. April 29, 2008 4:57 pm

    I was going to say E=MC Squarepants.

Something to say?

