Skip to content

Finalmente está terminado… ¡qué lástima!

May 14, 2008
tags:

I just got home about 40 minutes ago from what is probably my last Spanish final exam. My “final final”, if you will.

But only if you will.

I feel like I’ve run a triathlon wearing wet jeans and lead shoes, carrying a beer keg on my head the whole time. I am friggin’ exhausted. That damn test totally wiped me out. I’m extremely confident that I majorly kicked its ass, but it got in several shots of its own before succumbing to me.

The awesome thing is that I don’t have any more Spanish classes. The crappy thing is that I don’t have any more Spanish classes.

See, I’m thrilled that I no longer have to drive all the way out to Lucky Larry’s tres veces a la semana, bother my mom with having to watch Adam while I’m in class (not that she minds, or she wouldn’t have agreed to do it, but that’s not the point), sit and memorize vocab for hours, fret over how little sense the subjunctive makes (even though it’s one of the keys to speaking Spanish properly), or agonize {usually for naught} over how shitty I am going to do on the exams.

But, en la otra mano, I really, REALLY enjoy it. I think Spanish is a beautiful language, I’ve had a blast learning it, I’ve had a fantastic professor, and, like it or not, this country is converting to bilingualism. Eventually, Spanish will officially become the second language of this country- mark my words. But that’s a whole other kettle of pescado for some other blog. Hmmmmmm…

Anyway, I know that if I don’t use it, I will eventually lose it. The only problem is that I don’t know anybody that speaks Spanish well enough so that I can converse with them, whether by email, by phone, or in person. I mean, I know OF some people that speak Spanish, either natively or they’ve learned it, but I don’t know them well enough to just arbitrarily start routinely shooting the mierda with them. I’m worried that I’ve basically just finished a two-year-long hobby, the skills of which I will forget in six months or less. And that sucks. Because I really, REALLY do enjoy speaking Spanish. Or as they say in Spain, “me like-o Spanish-o”. Or something close to that.

So… ¿hay alguien que hable español y quiera hablarlo conmigo?

Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? Bueller? Frye? Frye? Frye? Frye? Frye?

Aw, crapola…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2008 2:32 pm

    Uh, puedo afilar mi lapis?

  2. Johann permalink
    May 14, 2008 3:48 pm

    Absolutamente sí, pero la ortografía corecta es “L-Á-P-I-Z“.

    Por favor manténganse alejado de las puertas.

  3. SpringfieldZebra permalink
    May 15, 2008 4:40 pm

    So, does “pescado” loosely translate as “fecal matter”, or am I getting too loose with the translation?

    I take it Lucky Larry’s does not offer any Spanish courses more advanced than was this last class.

  4. Johann permalink
    May 15, 2008 5:21 pm

    Pescado = fish (i.e. to be eaten; as opposed to pez, which refers to {live} fish actually in the water)

    Lucky Larry’s does has a conversational class that I could take, but I don’t know if it’s “more advanced” than my 202 class or merely… well, conversational.

  5. May 16, 2008 10:41 am

    Tierra del fuego.

  6. May 16, 2008 12:14 pm

    He olvidado muchos de los español que aprendí más de cuatro años en la escuela secundaria.

    And yeah, I had to type that into a translator.

    Lo siento, amigo.

  7. Johann permalink
    May 16, 2008 1:28 pm

    AnonCom: Um, Nachos Bell Grande.

    UH: Una apología no es necesaria. Probablamente yo olvidaré todo antes del primer de junio, a menos que yo encuentre alguien con quien para hablar español conmigo.

Something to say?

