Skip to content

Victory!!

May 17, 2008
tags:

The first game is in the books.

Marlins win! Marlins win! MARLINS WIN!!!!!

Ian’s team beat the Seattle Mariners… um… I’m embarrassed to admit I don’t even have a clue what the final score was. I think it was in the neighborhood of 12-9 or 14-8 or something around thereabouts. I was so intent on helping “coach” the team that I never heard what the score was. Hopefully I’ll find out tomorrow.

Ian got 2 hits and scored a run- IN HIS FIRST GAME EVER. Sweeeeeeeet!!! I tell you what, it does a daddy right proud. But I would have been proud of him if he would have 0-fer’ed. He played 2B the whole game. I’m guessing he’s going to be like I was- second baseman by trade and embracing it the whole way. Jennifer (my sister) commented on how much Ian looks like I did back in the day, standing out there in his too-big-for-him shirt and his big ol’ ball cap. Thing is, I saw it too. Creepy.

He’s got another game tomorrow already- it’s a make-up of one of the rainout dates. So I’ve got to get the ol’ stain stick out (hopefully we have one) and get his uniform washed tonight so he’s not playing in the same stanky-ass uniform two days in a row. Eeewww! Then he’s got games Tuesday night and Wednesday night and then he’s done until after Memorial Day. I’m kinda surprised- his is just about the only team that doesn’t play Memorial Day Saturday. Good thing; he’s going out of town with G&G. Kinda wish I could go, actually. They’re going “caving” in Missouri.

Anyway, my new favorite Florida Marlins player is Miguel Cabrera Dontrelle Willis good ol #12, second baseman extraordinaire, Ian.

My son. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marjorie permalink
    May 17, 2008 6:16 pm

    Besides his playing ability, which I’m sure has all the MLB scouts on full alert, his face was soooo happy the whole time. He really enjoyed himself, and I think he did his best. This may be just proud ol’ Grandma talking, but he seemed to have some “ball field sense” that some of his compadres did not have. When he hit the ball, he knew to run, rather than stand transfixed and watch it for a few seconds. He also seemed to know where the play was out there.

  2. Johann permalink
    May 17, 2008 7:16 pm

    Yeah, I’ve been telling him about backing up throws and trying to read what’s happening and predict where the play could go.

    But yeah, he seemed to be enjoying him some baseball, and that’s all I want.

    Except he did ask on the way home at what level will there be TV cameras at the games.

Something to say?

