Skip to content

So close…

May 18, 2008
tags:

Well, today’s game was a tight one, even for there being 35 runs scored.  But in the end, the Rockies beat Ian and his Marlins 18-17.  It was tied going into the bottom of the 6th, and the Roxx scored on four singles and the game was over.

Ian did well.  Got on base three times in four at-bats and scored once.  There is an… issue I need to work on with him, however.  There were a handful of balls hit to him that he did not catch (cleanly, anyway), and he got pissed.  Like, seriously pissed.  So I yanked him aside between innings two or three times and told him not to get bent over it, he can’t make very play every time, he’s only seven, the whole works.  Even had to pull out the ol’ “you want to just quit?” a couple times, to which I got an answer that sure seemed like something along the lines of “go fuck yourself, Dad”.

And a quick side note to my parents:  I don’t even want to hear it.  Just keep those comments to yourselves.  😡

Anyway, he and I are going to work on grounders and pop-ups for a while.  The hitting I’m not so worried about right now; he knocked the snot out of the ball today, especially his last time up.  Just clubbed it.  Me, I was the other way around- I had decent glove work but couldn’t hit air falling out of a plane.  Still can’t.

So after his homework is done tomorrow, I think he and I are going to look for somewhere where I can hit him some balls but he won’t have to run for days to chase down the ones he misses.  I have about 3 dozen softballs, but I think we only have one baseball.  Maybe two.  So it’s not like I can just keep hitting balls and then we go pick them up at one time.  Maybe I”ll break down and go to Phallus’s and by that $40, five-gallon bucket o’ balls I saw last time I was there.

Anyway, despite the hissy fits he threw in the field, I am still insanely proud of him.  He wasn’t pissed that they lost, he was pissed that he didn’t make the plays.  At least that can be fixed somewhat.

Again, Mom & Dad, just keep the comments to yourselves.

Next game Tuesday against the Mariners again, whom they beat 14-10 on Saturday.  (Didn’t find out that score until today.)

Oh, and Ian’s coach gave me my very own Marlins hat today!  I’m somebody now!  🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Marjorie permalink
    May 19, 2008 6:46 am

    Mbffxmb! That’s me keeping my comments to myself.

  2. SpringfieldZebra permalink
    May 19, 2008 10:40 am

    [Comment kept to myself]

  3. Johann permalink
    May 19, 2008 10:57 am

    Smart asses.

Something to say?

