Skip to content

Ouch

May 22, 2008
tags:

Well, Ian’s Marlins team suffered their first pretty major thrashing last night, as the Cardinals beat them rather soundly 22-10. I knew we were in trouble when the Cardinals got their five runs in each of the first two innings, and I don’t think we scored until the fourth. It took a little while, but the Marlins started mounting a little bit of an offense; it was just way too little too late as the Cardinals were just too much.

But, in the Marlins’ defense, most of the kids on the Cardinals have played together for three years, and that really makes a difference, especially when those three years are nearly half of your life. Plus, their coaches really kind of seemed to be the hard-ass, “win or you’re all pussies” kinds of coaches. Maybe that’s unfair (and possibly not accurate), but that’s the read I got off of them. Our kids are still learning each other’s names. I’m not positive, but I think the only two kids on Ian’s team that knew each other before the season started are the coach’s two kids.

Anyway, no excuses; we got beat and we got beat badly. Ian had a pretty good game; he continues to jack the ball pretty well. Three hits and 2 runs scored. He played 2B, OF, and 3B last night. Even made a put-out at third. Still gets a little pissy when things don’t go the way he wants, but not quite as badly as he has been. I thought he was going to incite a riot when a Cardinals runner ran into our shortstop. “He can’t do that- he ran him over on purpose!!!” I had to do some fast damage control on that one before that situation got out of hand with the militia coaches on the other team.

Our next game isn’t until next Thursday. We can ALL use the break. Four games in five days; that’s a grind, especially for seven- and eight-year-olds. Not to mention 40-year-old fat out-of-shape dads trying to keep up with seven- and eight-year-olds. Ian’s going to spend Memorial Day weekend going “caving” (I hate using nouns as verbs) in Missouri with G&G. I’m not sure what Dawn and Adam and I are doing yet.

Maybe I can talk her into putting on a DVD for Adam downstairs and…

bow-chickki-bow-wowwwww

Yeah, yeah, I know she won’t go for it either, but it’s still a nice thought. >sigh<

4 Comments leave one →
  1. nancy permalink
    May 22, 2008 8:40 am

    I wonder if our kids will play each other. My son is on the Phillies. I’ll have to check the schedule.

  2. Johann permalink
    May 22, 2008 1:40 pm

    As long as your son is in coach-pitch, they will. I’m pretty positive that Ian’s Marlins play the Phillies twice this season, actually. According to my schedule, it looks like 6/3 and 6/14 are Marlins-Phillies.

    Be sure and say hello. I’ll be the 1st base coach trying hard to pretend he knows what he’s doing.

  3. nancy permalink
    May 22, 2008 5:22 pm

    Awesome. Will do. As we always have 2-3 games scheduled per day, I’m not sure which of my 7 year old’s I’ll be at, but I’ll try to definitely make the ones against the Marlins. Just yell “nancy!” or better yet “Mom!” and I’ll definitely turn around.

  4. Johann permalink
    May 23, 2008 9:48 am

    10-4. I’ll look for you and you look for me. 🙂

Something to say?

