Skip to content

A “W” is a “W”, I guess

June 15, 2008
tags:

Yesterday was Picture Day for Ian’s baseball team before their game*. Imagine trying to tell a dozen 7- and 8-year-olds “don’t get dirty”. It’s a little like telling Paris Hilton “don’t be stupid”. (Paris Hilton fans can insert the name of some other similarly brain-dead celebrity, if they so choose.) But it went pretty well. There are two kids that still don’t have jerseys yet, for some reason- I think it’s due to the supplier dropping the ball- so for the individual pictures there was some shirt swapping. The team picture, however, won’t be quite as uniform as most (pardon the pun). At least the two kids without jerseys wear shirts that are at least close to the aqua-green team colors. Better than me, actually.

I ordered a Marlins t-shirt from the Majestic website, the company that made the kids’ jerseys. I was looking all over for the green shirt- most web sites only had them in white and black- then I finally find the aqua-green shirt on the Majestic website. And they offer personalization, so naturally I ordered a shirt that says “IAN” with the number 12 on the back, in reverence to my favorite Marlins player. About 10 days later it arrived- on a dark forest green t-shirt. I was kinda pissed, especially since, because it was personalized, I couldn’t return it. So here I am yesterday in the team picture with this dark green t-shirt that stood out like… well, like Paris Hilton at a MENSA convention, to continue a theme. I’ll look like a dork in the picture, but honestly, I was thrilled that Coach asked me to be in the picture.

* The game, to be played against the Phillies, got canceled- apparently the night before- because the Phillies coach contacted our coach and said that they wouldn’t have enough players. I don’t know if it “officially” will be counted as such, but I’m thinking that technically it should be counted as a win by forfeit for us. I’ll have to ask Coach about that at our next game Wednesday. I’m not going to raise a big stink about it, but as the title of this post suggests…

I also want to take a quick moment to say “Happy Father’s Day” to my dad- Happy Father’s Day, Pop- as well as to all dads: birth fathers, stepfathers, grandfathers, fathers-in-law, foster fathers, expectant fathers, and any other male parental units I may have left out. Dawn and the boys got me a Sorcerer Mickey (my most favoritest of all cartoon characters ever) lawn statue complete with accompanying magic brooms statue. Snicker all you want- I loved it. Then Ian drew me a Father’s Day card depicting me in the yard admiring said statues by the birdbath. Holy cow, I love my family! How can you NOT love that?!

Oh, and we got home from the mall last night and went out in the front yard to chase “lighting bugs”, as Adam calls them, and in the midst of that saw {at least} four bats flying over our and neighboring houses. Awesome!!! I really doubt they’re living in the bat house I put up on the house about 6-8 years ago, but it was cool to finally see them around. And to all you people that think bats are pests that should be feared and eradicated, you can’t be more wrong. Bats do not bite you and suck your blood- the ones that DO drink blood live mainly in South America and even they pretty much exclusively only go after livestock. So unless you live in Argentina and you look like a bovine, I’d say you’re safe. But then, regardless of where you live, if you look like a bovine, I don’t think bats are your primary concern. Bats do not carry rabies- they can contract rabies like most other animals, but the chances of a human getting rabies from a bat are virtually nil. And bats do not try to nest in people’s hair. All y’alls watch too many movies. In fact, bats are quite handy little mammals (and no, they are NOT birds) to have around. Your average garden-variety bat can eat up to 600 mosquitoes an hour. Especially considering what kinds of diseases you actually can get from mosquitoes- not to mention what annoying little f*ckers varmints they are- I’ll take bats over mosquitoes ANY day. So to any weenie-head neighbors I may have, don’t you dare try to chase them off. I’ve been trying for years to attract them; I’m not about to let you myth-believing yay-hoos try to have them exterminated.

Yeah, I know, like I have any control over it. Besides, considering the size of some of the owls I’ve seen in the neighborhood, the bats may already have been exterminated naturally, in which case I have a conundrum. I like owls, but I want to keep the bats around too.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. nancy permalink
    June 15, 2008 7:38 pm

    Eesh Johann, sorry about that forfeit yesterday. The coach of the Phillies happens to be my brother-in-law and for what it’s worth, he was furious with the parents on our team. None of them bothered to call and say their little slugger wouldn’t be available for Saturday’s game. He heard it through the grapevine and when he started making calls, six kids had planned to be absent but none had callem him on their own. He called your coach as a courtesy after having tried to find substitute players to no avail. He’s really mad that with so many rainouts, we had a beautiful day for a game Saturday but couldn’t play. The Marlins deserve the “W” for that one. Please extend my apologies to the players and families on the Marlins.

  2. Johann permalink
    June 16, 2008 9:11 am

    Hey, not your fault at all, and no apology necessary. I thought it was good of your brother-in-law to call our coach. These things happen. It sucks, but it does happen.

    I agree, though- there’s been so many rainouts, and Saturday was such a beautiful day, it was a friggin’ shame not to have been able to play.

  3. SpringfieldZebra permalink
    June 17, 2008 6:33 am

    Johann,

    Thanks for the Father’s Day wishes. Tell Ian that the next game I go to I will be wearing my Father’s Day gift.

  4. Johann permalink
    June 17, 2008 7:21 am

    Will do.

  5. June 18, 2008 3:23 pm

    Sounds like quite a season and glad you had a good father’s day

  6. Johann permalink
    June 19, 2008 7:12 am

    Thanks, Mer. Four games left (weather permitting).

Something to say?

