Skip to content

So close, and yet…

June 19, 2008
tags:

I really thought we were going to actually win one this time.

It was 16-15 Marlins going into the bottom of the 6th inning. Alas, the Pirates scored 4 runs (though technically, the game was over after the second one was scored) and they won 19-16.  The entire team played really, really well, but the Pirates were just a little bit better this time.

Ian did well again; he knocked the snot out of the ball again. Only problem was, he kept knocking it either right in to someone’s glove, or else he’d ground one to the 1st baseman. He did get one hit, however. He also recorded the Pirates’ first out of the game when he fielded a grounder and stepped on second for the force. Best part was that his attitude was SO much better this time. There were a couple isolated incidents where he sort of growled a little, but even though he got out all but once, his disposition throughout the game was SO much better. I was very pleased. Maybe it’s because I told him after his last game that I will yank him off the field and take him home in the middle of a game if I “have” to, and that I will make him explain to his coach what happened. I’m such a bad-ass. But I would do it.

Hopefully, though, it’s simply because he is starting to learn that it IS just a game.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marjorie permalink
    June 19, 2008 6:11 pm

    Do you explain to him that sometimes in baseball, things aren’t “fair” or “unfair,” they just happen? And not to get upset if a player on the other team catches the ball he hit, etc.? That’s what he’s supposed to do, and Ian tries to do it, too, when he’s out in the field. That’s how baseball is played. I’m glad to hear that his attitude is improving. Lon always says you get further on ATTITUDE than APTITUDE.

  2. Johann permalink
    June 20, 2008 7:04 am

    Of course, I’ve explained all that- especially the not to get upset thing- but he wants to know WHY things happen. The whole “because it just IS” (or isn’t or does or doesn’t or whatever) argument isn’t good enough for him.

    As before, just keep your “nanner nanner nanner” comments to yourself… 😡

    I didn’t, however, think of trying the “that’s what he is supposed to do” tactic when the opposing player gets him out. Not sure it’ll have the effect on a seven-year-old that I want it to, but it’s worth a shot.

    Yeah, Lon had all sorts of sayings, as I recall. Some of them I got, some of them I’m still working on.

Something to say?

