Skip to content

Deafening silence

January 6, 2009

The boys went back to school today after two weeks off for Christmas break. (I think the PC sheep call it “winter break” now so as not to “offend” anyone. Please.)

Anyway, this time last night- actually, this time a week ago- I was thinking that today could not come soon enough. Two weeks of the boys arguing and fighting 24/7 was enough to squelch the ol’ holiday spirit.

And then today, as I returned home from dropping Ian at school and Adam at preschool, I remember feeling incredibly saddened by how quiet it was in the house.

I venture a bet I’ll be going through the same entire cycle yet again roundabout this time in mid-to-late August.

What is it about kids that toggles you back and forth ad nauseum between being ready to sell them on eBay one minute and on the verge of tears that they’re gone the next?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kristen permalink
    January 8, 2009 1:39 am

    Believe me, it goes so much faster than you can ever imagine. One day you are taking them to kindergarten and you blink and they are going to college. Cherish these days – the good and the bad. I guarantee, one day in the not to distant future, you will be wishing for a little noise and chaos. (I know that is hard to believe at this point in time.) I remember griping that I never had ANY time to myself, that all I did was taxi everybody around, soccer practice, basketball practice, this gym, that tournament. Now I REALLY miss it. I crave that chaos……who’da thunk it?

Something to say?

