Skip to content

Back for a second season

February 6, 2009

I’m sure all four of you that {used to} read this blog regularly remember how I chronicled Ian’s first year of playing baseball.

Last night, Ian’s coach, Gene, called to ask Ian to come play on his team again.  He said that he was going to move his boys up from coach-pitch to minor league, but since they missed the birthday cut-off (that allows them to move up) by eight days, he just decided to go ahead and stay with the same team, and he’s kinda wanting to get the band back together, if you will.  Ian missed the cut-off to move up by 15 days himself, so he’ll be back with at least a couple of the kids he played with last year.  Gene said that besides his boys and Ian, there may be all new kids- he can’t get anyone from last year to return his phone calls.  Hmmmm…

If you recall, last year I volunteered myself to Gene if he wanted and/or needed the help, and kinda wound up being the unofficial first base coach.  Well, last night Gene asked if I would be his assistant this year.  I had to do my best not to sound like Sally Field at the Oscars when I told him I would be thrilled to do so.  I was doing a little dance while he was telling me this; hopefully he wasn’t able to hear.  He said there’s a coach’s meeting coming up in a few weeks and that he’d call me and let me know when it is so I can go as well.

Cuz I’m a coach now.

So that means that you four that are reading this will be subjected to another season of posts about ball games played by 8-year-olds.  Maybe I’ll even learn how to accompany the posts with a picture or two, provided I can get them taken.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marjorie permalink
    February 6, 2009 8:44 pm

    Can’t wait to see my boys out on the field again. Gene no doubt noticed that you know a grounder from a ground hog, a ball from a strike, etc., and that you can really provide some baseball education to the kids. Plus the fact that you treat them like they’re kids who are learning, and not like someone who just caused you to lose face as a coach, is obvious, too. Gene made a good choice.

  2. Aunt Kathy permalink
    February 13, 2009 1:04 pm

    I’m dying for baseball to start – Enough of this economics wrangling, gloomy weather! Let’s get to the good stuff.

    Congrats on the coaching promotion -it must be “in your blood”, as they say. Are all baseball excursions tax deductible? Got a few teams out our way :^)

Something to say?

