Skip to content

Turn out the lights, the season’s over

June 30, 2009

Already.

Half of me is thinking, “aww, maaaaan!” and half of me is thinking, “thank the heavenly Father”.  We did not do all that well (win-loss wise) yet at the same time we played a lot of good games.  There were some pretty big issues with attention spans- again, 7- and 8-year-olds not stay focus, to paraphrase Mr. Myagi- but even with our nine losses, at least a few of them were only by a small handful of runs, and in several of them the kids still played well.  That sentence didn’t even make sense to me as I typed it, but hence how went this season.  It was just really hard keeping most of the kids interested for 6 innings, and it just made things hard for (Coach) Gene and me, and was very frustrating at times.  Yet, it was still extremely rewarding, at least from my standpoint.

One of the big problems we had was with one kid [whom, we later found out, is autistic, but still] that virtually never hustled, on every play he would flop enough to make Dennis Rodman proud and “get hurt”, and in one game, he even kicked Gene in the shin and then later purposefully hit Gene in the… um… scrotissimus region.  About the fourth to last game or so, he did start coming around (slowly) and at least occasionally tried to make an effort.  Then after the final game last night, he comes up to me and says, “Thank you for being my coach” and gives me a big hug.

I’m a sucker for that shit, damn it.

Anyway, I really don’t know where I left off with the game results, but suffice it to say we lost the next few.  Some by a rather large margin, some by 4 runs or less.  And then on the second to last game of the season, they finally decided they were ready to play as a team, and they won.  It was close- actually, a bit of a nail-biter- but they won.  And then last night’s final game, against the team we tied the first time we played them, my little Diamondbacks played their asses off and won pretty big.  I think like about 22-13 big.  So there was nothing like ending the season on a high note like that.  Pretty cool.

Next year, Ian, as well as Gene’s boys, will be moving up to the [kid-pitch] minor leagues, so there are a whole new set of rules and fundamentals that will need to be learned and then honed, and at some point soon Gene and I will probably get together and decide for sure which kids we are going to “bring with us”, and then go from there.  We might look into the possibility of a fall-ball league (and maybe even a winter league) as well.  As I write this, Ian is outside with his pitchback net, working on his dexterity and reflexes (though he doesn’t know that’s what he’s doing), and I’m certain we’ll hit the parks and maybe the batting cages on occasion.

Until then, I just want to say to my Diamondback guys and girl, thank you for a… crazy season.  It had its ups and downs, and there were some moments I could just FEEL my hair turning grey, but you guys always made it interesting and fun.  To those coming with us to the next level, we’ll see you next year if not before.  Those that aren’t, best of luck in baseball, school, and whatever else comes your way.

To Gene, I say thank you for giving me the opportunity to coach again, and I look forward to next year and beyond.

To Tara, thank you for keeping Gene and me in line.

To all the parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and assorted other fans, thank you for your support and patience, and for the after-game treats for the kids, especially the players’ assorted brothers and sisters.  That was great that you included them.

Ian, Quinn, Justin, Jacob, Gage, Brian, Ken, Brayden, Ethan, Conner, Joe, Sam, and Ben- you all did a great job, you all improved as the season progressed, and it was my privilege to be your coach this year.  I’m proud of each and every one of you.

I love you guys.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Marjorie permalink
    July 1, 2009 7:04 am

    That’s a touching summary of the season. Where do the minor league teams play?

  2. Johann permalink
    July 1, 2009 7:53 am

    Um… here in town… somewhere…

    I don’t have the first clue where they play. It could be listed on the SSBA website, but I’m not energetic enough to look. Will let you know in about 10 months when I find out. 😉

  3. Marjorie permalink
    July 1, 2009 10:20 am

    What is the e address? I tried SSBA.org and got the Saskatchewan Sheep Breeder’s Association. Close, but no banana.

  4. July 2, 2009 8:53 am

    Dot com.

Something to say?

