Skip to content

T-14 days

August 3, 2009

…until we invade the Mouse House.

Dawn and I decided back in February that we were going to take Ian to Disney World for his birthday this year.  We got our flight, resort reservations, dinner plans, all that stuff taken care of, and now we’re just counting down these last two weeks.

And so far- to my knowledge, anyway- Ian still doesn’t know.

He has been pitching tales of woe all summer about how we haven’t been anywhere on vacation and we haven’t done anything fun and blah blah blah.  Never mind that Dawn popped for Opening Day tickets in one of the club boxes at Busch Stadium for Ian and me.  Never mind that we joined the Colony West Swim Club (though I’m not real sure why, considering my mom and dad have a perfectly good pool we can use any time for free).  Never mind that just last week Ian went to the Tom Sawyer cave in Hannibal with Dawn’s folks and one of his cousins (in other words, sans little brother).  Never mind that we’ve gone to some Sliders games.  He still hasn’t gotten to have any fun, in his mind.  Of course, it doesn’t help that I have been telling him that, since we got the new flooring, we don’t really have the money to go on a trip anywhere for a while.  Which is somewhat true and somewhat bullshit.  He’s apparently buying it, though, since he still bitches about not getting to have any fun yet this summer and it’s almost time to go back to school.

So we’ll show him- Dawn and I are going to fun the shit out of him for a week.

His birthday is on Saturday the 15th.  That, in and of itself, has gotten to be a bit more ambitious than I really cared for it to be, especially considering it’s two days before we leave for Casa de Mickey.  Dawn’s renting a friggin’ bounce house (we’re hosed if it rains that day), I’m decorating a Sorcerer Mickey cake (though, luckily, that got scaled down a bit after the “practice cake” we made this past Friday), and we’ve got her family, my family, and several neighbors and their kids coming.  Which is perfectly fine, but that also means we’ve got beer, soda, and juice to buy, I’ve got to clean the house, have the grass mowed and the dogshit picked up out of the yard that day (again, screwed if it rains)… though I did knock a big one off the list when I powerwashed the deck this past Saturday.  Just have a lot to do.  Not to mention packing for Ian and me for WDW (Dawn can pack her own damn suitcase!!) and packing for Adam to spend that week with Grandma and Grandpa.  And canceling the newspaper delivery, canceling the Oberweis delivery… SHIT!

So anyhooze, the plan is that we got one of those recordable birthday cards with Mickey Mouse on the front for him to open, and we’re going to record something along the lines of “make sure you get a good night’s sleep tomorrow night because first thing Monday morning, WE’RE LEAVING FOR DISNEY WORLD!!”  I originally wanted to save that for the coupe de ville and have him open that last, but since Dawn’s family is giving him stuff to take on the trip, he’d figure it out by the time he got to the card.  So we’re going to have him open it first.  And he bet us that, since we’re not going to make broom cakes to accompany the Sorcerer Mickey hats, that he’s going to be disappointed at the end of his party.  So Dawn and I each bet him $2.50 that he will not give two shits about those broom cakes by the end of his party.

Sucker.

We’ve got a decent itinerary penciled out, I think.  (Keyword: penciled out…)  Gonna hit Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Disney Hollywood Studios, Typhoon Lagoon, probably Animal Kingdom, probably Downtown Disney… and we’ve got it worked out to be able to have breaks in the afternoon for rest/naps/barbituate injestion.  We didn’t get all the dinner reservations we wanted, but I think he’ll be all right with what we did get.  And the final night (Friday the 21st) before we leave, we’re going to the Magic Kingdom- extended magic hours go until 1:00am, so we’re going to just go full bore, balls out that final night until I have to carry Ian back to the resort.  And then have to go through trying to wake him up for the 8:00am breakfast Saturday morning before we catch our flight home… but I think it’ll be great.  I just hope we can continue to keep it from him for the next two weeks.  I’ve almost blown it so many times so far.  I’d hate to have the surprise gone this close to his birthday.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2009 5:04 pm

    He’s apparently buying it, though, since he still bitches about not getting to have any fun yet this summer and it’s almost time to go back to school.

    Hahaha… kids are so stupid.

  2. Marjorie permalink
    August 3, 2009 8:30 pm

    I’d like to go along, just to watch Ian enjoying it. He’s going to be so thrilled!

  3. Johann permalink
    August 5, 2009 8:41 am

    Yeah, well, the whole surprise thing might well be out the window now.

    We were at Party Tree last night looking for decorations for the party (not much luck, in case you’re wondering) and we ran into a customer of Dawn’s, who proceeded to ask her, “so have you gone to Disney World yet?”, right in front of Ian. I was SO pissed. Ian was all, “why did she ask if we’d gone to Disney?” and I had to do some quick bullshitting to deflect attention from it. I didn’t even know this fucking broad and I wanted to throttle her right there in the store. Bitch.

    So I don’t think it’s going to have the punch for which I initially hoped, but I think he’ll still be surprised. I hope.

  4. SpringfieldZebra permalink
    August 5, 2009 11:10 am

    So how does the youngest Johann Jr feel about staying with Grandma and Grandpa for a week…by himself? Or does he even know that yet? Or if he doesn’t know it, which is probably the case after I thought about it for a few seconds, how is he going to take it when you tell him?

  5. August 5, 2009 2:15 pm

    Adam doesn’t know yet. I imagine he’ll initially be thoroughly pissed that he doesn’t get to go (he’s already said he wants to go to Disney World), but I’m hoping that a week with Grandma and Grandpa will sweeten that bitter taste enough for him not to need TOO much therapy.

  6. Kristen permalink
    August 16, 2009 9:16 am

    You are gonna have sooooo much fun!! Happy B’Day to your big boy!!
    PS Did the kids ever manage to elbow you out of the “bounce house” at the birthday party??

Something to say?

