Skip to content

Hello? Is this thing on? Anyone? Anyone?

July 7, 2010

Wow.  Been a while since I’ve been here.  Judging from my visitor stats, it’s been a long time since anyone has been here.  Can’t blame anyone but myself for that; why go to a blog that hasn’t posted anything since early May, and February before that?

I really have no excuse for not blogging.  It’s not like there has been nothing blogworthy going on since New Years.  In late February I had the opportunity to go to Los Angeles for the first time ever as my brother Jeff, our dad, and I went out for Aunt Mickie’s memorial service.  It was beautiful out there but we only got to spend about 40 hours on the ground before we had to turn around and come back home.  So I’d love to go back, mainly so I can visit Kristen, Harry, Amanda, Lauren, Harrison, and Renée longer, and if I happen to take in some sights, so be it.  Dawn, the boys and I went to Colorado for a ski trip in April; Adam skied for the first time.  He didn’t seem real impressed with it overall, although he has said a couple times recently that he wished we’d go back to the “Colorado house” and ski.  Adam finished preschool (heading to the big K in August!) and Ian finished 4th grade.  I took Ian, my dad, and my sister to Busch Stadium on Father’s Day–kinda hard to beat Father’s Day at the ballpark, although it was unbearably friggin’ hot that day.  We had two thunderstorms take down parts of a tree in the backyard that both wound up somehow sparing the deck.  Last Friday, Ian and I finished up another season of baseball.  Yet another not-so-good record, but the improvement ALL the kids showed was phenomenal.  Possibly my most rewarding season as a coach yet.

Quite frankly, the main reason I haven’t blogged in so long is that it’s hard to find time to do so, and that’s my fault, due mainly to that friggin’ black hole void in the time-space continuum known as Facebook.  I hate that I spend so much time on there doing stupid shit like farming and breaking eggs and building a frontier town and playing Family Feud and leaving smart-assed comments on my friends’ profiles.  (In my defense, my friends really seem to like my smart-assed comments…)  I think what REALLY gets me about it is that Jeff was so adamant that I get on Facebook two years ago and then he up and bolted last year.  The only reason I haven’t dropped it myself is that there are quite a few people with whom I’ve gotten in touch again, and with whom I want to STAY in touch, but I also have given serious thought to sending my email address to all of my Facebook “friends” and just say that if they want to stay in touch, please feel free to email me, and if not, I understand.  Probably more than half of them I wouldn’t hear from again- just as how with several, I haven’t heard from them at all since we “friended” each other- and that’s fine, but there are at least a few dozen that I do talk with frequently, that I wouldn’t be able to without having found them on Facebook.  Bottom line, what I REALLY need to do is force myself to quit wasting time on there.

Anyway, I really want to try to get myself back into posting SOMETHING here somewhat  frequently again, and see if I can get my readership back up into the double digits again. I know I don’t post anything of any real interest to anyone besides myself, but at least I nonetheless had regular visitors.  I’ve got things coming up I can talk about- we leave for North Carolina in about two weeks.  Going to some “family nature camp”, Dawn calls it (I’ve been calling it a commune camp).  It’s a place where you can hike, canoe, swim, do nature-y activities, things like that.  There’s no television on the premises, either.  Adam’s naturally pissed about that, but Ian was actually rather receptive to the notion.  Then on the way home, we’re going to swing by Santa Claus, IN and go to Holiday World for a couple days.  Should be something bloggable out of that 9-day excursion- if nothing else, the drives out and back should be able to fill up a post or two!  As mentioned before, Adam starts kindergarten in August, at Ian’s school. This will be the one year they’ll both be in the same school. Dawn has surgery on her elbow in late September- it’s essentially Tommy John surgery, for you baseball fans. So like I said, I’m going to TRY to do better about writing a little more often again.  Either that or I should just give up and delete the whole thing.

Your thoughts? Try to blog more or scrap it? And yes, I want your honest opinions.

Provided there’s anyone left out there to GIVE me honest opinions…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Marjorie permalink
    July 8, 2010 7:06 am

    I like to read your blogs. I check your blogsite 2x day to see if you’ve written anything.

  2. SpringfieldZebra permalink
    July 9, 2010 11:09 am

    If you make it to the coast in North Carolina, hope you don’t caught up in any oil slicks, tar balls, etc.

    Regarding your posts, keep it up. Even though you and I live in the same town, many times I find out info about your family I didn’t previously know.

    However, over a year ago I decided to subscribe to an RSS feed to both of your blogs. That way, I don’t have to keep looking to see if you have posted anything…the RSS feed notifies me when post a message and when your readers make a comment. All commonly used browsers allow RSS feeds, and many email programs do also. I use my email program (Apple Mail) as my default RSS reader. That way when I subscribe to any RSS feed, it makes a separate Mail box for that feed.

    I would recommend the RSS subscription process to all of your readers, especially since your posts seem to be pretty far apart. 🙂

  3. Johann permalink
    July 10, 2010 2:58 pm

    Nah, we’ll be nowhere near the coast. We’ll barely be inside North Carolina from the Tennessee border.

    Good call with the RSS. Not just in general, but specifically since I go months between posts. I’ve started doing that with some of the blogs I follow regularly. I use Google Reader, myself.

Something to say?

