Skip to content

Walk a Mile in Her Shoes

February 28, 2011

I’ve done a few charity events in my time. I’ve done the Bowl for Kids’ Sake, I’ve taken phone calls from donors for the Children’s Miracle Network telethon, and I’ve done quite a few trivia nights which have benefitted everything from local high school athletics to helping pay for medical bills for someone in the community to various NFPs around the area. In about 6 weeks, I’m trying something a little different.

I will be walking in the 5th Annual Walk a Mile In Her Shoes walk to benefit the Prairie Center Against Sexual Assault, a not-for-profit organization here in Springfield, IL, which provides for victims of sexual assault and also seeks to prevent sexual assault.

The idea of the walk is for men to literally walk a mile in women’s shoes.  It’s one mile and one mile only. However, considering what I’ve seen and heard of how women feel after walking around all day in the shoes y’all wear, I can only imagine the contusions, broken bones, and lacerations I’ll give myself after only a mile.  If I can even last that long.  I’m scared to death, frankly. Especially considering the shoes of Dawn’s that she has so eagerly picked out for me to wear. They’re these saucy red 4-inch heels that I call her “Bend Me Over the Hood of the Squad Car” shoes. And yes, I WILL be practicing walking in them.

Anyway, I am looking for donations for this walk. Anyone wishing to donate can click here and it will take you to my donation page. It doesn’t have to be a lot- anything you can give is awesome. If you live in or around Springfield or will at least be in the area on Saturday, April 16, 2011, feel free to come out and support me and the other walkers. Better yet, if there are any men in the Springfield area that have the balls to do so, you can register and come out and join me. Thank you to anyone and everyone that donates to this very worthy cause, and I hope to see you out there rooting me on, laughing at me, whichever you deem appropriate.

I may even be so bold as to post some pictures here and/or on the BookFace.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Marjorie permalink
    February 28, 2011 8:08 pm

    It’s a darned good cause, but you could get hurt in those shoes. Wear sensible shoes…just sayin’.

    • Johann permalink
      February 28, 2011 8:40 pm

      I’d love to, but I think that kinda defeats the purpose. If I can’t rock the heels, I’ll go with some pumps. 😉

  2. DBeau permalink
    March 2, 2011 11:26 am

    PHOTO’S ARE A MUST!!! I dont have facebook, so make sure you put them on here too!

    • March 2, 2011 1:40 pm

      Will see what I can do. And thank you SO much for your donation!

  3. plking permalink
    March 3, 2011 7:05 am

    i’ll donate and if Dawn red shoes won’t work I have some cool black pattern leather heels 4 inches

Something to say?

