Skip to content

Giving thanks

November 24, 2011

It’s that time of year again. I’m not really much for this kind of sappy, cheesy, smarmy post about what I’m thankful for, but I figured since I’ve never actually done one, why not? So here goes. (probably not an all-inclusive list, BTW)

 

Johann gives thanks

  • Family first, obviously. My wife, my sons, my parents, my siblings and their spouses and kids, my in-laws, and all the family out west that I love dearly and miss terribly.
  • My health. I bitch and moan a lot about eye anomalies, bad knees, migraines, shit like that, but there are a lot of people out there that have far worse problems than I, so I am really pretty lucky.
  • That I live in a country protected by the greatest fighting force in the world, the United States Armed Forces. God bless ALL military personnel, past, present, and future; active, reserve, or retired; living or dead. You are what keeps America free.
  • My Facebook friends. As full of goddamned suck as it is, were it not for the new Evil Empire™ that is Facebook, there are a lot of people with whom I would not be in contact today. Some of you I’ve only recently met, some of you go back many, many years and share a special/deep/sordid/otherwise significant past with me. Many of you I don’t see nearly often enough, some not at all. You all are special to me- perhaps in different ways and for different reasons, but special none the less.
  • My Twitter friends. Some are also Facebook friends, but on the whole, the Twitter folk are simply a different breed. I’ve been fortunate to meet quite a few of you, some of you I am still waiting [im]patiently to meet, but you all keep me very much informed, entertained, and honored to have made your acquaintances. You guys are amazing. I’d love to make and post a list of all of you that have enriched my life, but I’m afraid I’d accidentally omit someone, and doing so would do that person a serious injustice. Hopefully, you know who you are.
  • The fact that I will not be doing anything even remotely connected with Black Friday. All them fools getting up at the crack of last week to go shopping all night and day and night tomorrow can do it without me.
  • Finally discovering sushi.
  • Getting to go watch my dad and my brother-in-law referee their very first state finals football game tomorrow at Memorial Stadium in Champaign.
  • Beef, seafood, chocolate, pizza, roasted Brussels sprouts, artichokes, asparagus, almonds, Diet Pepsi, the aforementioned sushi, and beer. Especially beer. There are other foods I enjoy but these are the big ones. Especially beer.
  • Music. Without it life would be 1,000,000,000 times the suck it is now.
  • Teachers, policemen, firemen, and anyone else who risk their lives and/or mold the minds of our children, and do it for, relatively speaking, damn near free, but because they LOVE DOING IT. Mr. Curry, Ms. Wickham, and Mrs. Stearns, I’m looking at you three specifically.
  • My dogs. My stupid, always hungry, stinky, shedding, slobbering, shitting all over my back yard, barking at that which isn’t there, lying around doing nothing all day dogs, without whom I’d be miserable.

I’m sure there’s much more for which I am thankful- maybe I can add more as they come to me- we’re hosting Thanksgiving, and the house ain’t gonna clean itself. If you read this, have a moment, and feel so inclined, leave a note about something or someone you are thankful to have in your life. Be safe. Be happy.

And goddamnit, be nice to each other.

Happy Thanksgiving. Peace.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Marjorie Stearns permalink
    November 26, 2011 7:28 am

    Very nicely said, John.

Something to say?

