Skip to content

False advertising

September 24, 2014

It just occurred to me- right about a year after the fact- that I am now guilty of false advertising.

This blog was originally all about my being a stay-home dad since 2007. Granted, I have sort of fallen off the pace with posts a few times, but I talked about things like how great it was to be able to go to baseball games, school functions, and cross-country events now that I am no longer working.

Only thing is, I am no longer no longer working.

In late 2012, our good friends Rob & Tammy from across the street (the parents of Adam’s best friend) bought out the inventory of a uniform shop that was going out of business. They purchased a location in a little strip mall behind the Toys ‘R Us store here and spent a couple months getting the store ready to open. On January 3, 2013, Bright Star Scrubs & Uniforms, Inc., became a living, breathing thing.

Bright Star Scrubs & Uniforms- or “the Star”, as Dawn and I call it- sells nursing uniforms, scrubs, shoes, stethoscopes, and almost any accessory a nurse may ever need, as well as lab coats, chefwear, aprons, and police/fire/EMS and tactical shirts and pants. Cherokee, Wonder Wink, and Barco’s ‘Grey’s Anatomy’ lines are the more popular brands they sell. But enough of the sales pitch, pathetic as it was. Back to the story.

Every so often, Tammy would ask me if I could give her a hand at the store, seeing as how I usually had the time to do so, once I got the boys off to school. I’d help with inventory, be the muscle for moving some things around, or various other random tasks. Then one day she asked me if I would want to go with her to the MTI school here in town for a fitting for the incoming nursing and dental assistant students. I thought the same thing I imagine you are thinking right now- “Am I really the right person to do this?”- but I agreed to go, and it went very well, so I was asked to do a couple more here and there.

Then, in late summer 2013, Tammy made the leap and bought an embroidery machine, so she could do embroidery in-house, to keep the cost of embroidery from going to a third party. She asked me if I were interested in learning how to do embroidery. I just sort of laughed, seeing as how my sewing prowess pretty much begins and ends with sewing on buttons. She, apparently, was serious, because shortly after Tammy purchased the machine, I’d spend anywhere from 2-6 hours a day trying to figure out how to mark and hoop a garment straight (i.e., not crooked). That right tharr is the key to successful embroidering. The machine does all the actual embroidery work in just a few short minutes. The only thing I really have to do during actual embroidery is maybe an occasional thread change on a multi-colored design, or to be there to minimize issues should certain anomalies occur. (Things like the thread and/or the bobbin running out or snapping; the needle breaking; the garment getting bunched up and sewn to itself– all of which happen far too often.)

Needless to say, I was not good at it. At all. I ruined way too many tops. How many exactly, I don’t know, but any more than zero is too many, as far as I am concerned. Well, like anything else, as I did it more often, my ability increased (however slowly), and I would eventually earn the unofficial title of “embroiderer”. Okay, I think I actually gave myself the unofficial title of “embroiderer”, but still.

Finally, one day last September (2013), Dawn had been visiting at Tammy’s house. She came home and announced to me, “Tomorrow you need to go in and sign tax documents. You’re working for Tammy now.”

As one could imagine, this was my reaction.

HUH?!

Well, I went in and signed the papers the next day, as instructed, and long story short, I officially became the embroiderer for Bright Star Scrubs & Uniforms, Inc. I still go on the nursing school fittings and, while I am still on Facebook- for now- I help maintain the store’s Facebook page and Twitter feed (under the totally made up title of Executive Vice President of Social Media), but my main gig is embroidery.

If I may say so (Tammy might say otherwise), I actually am getting better at embroidering. Tammy will still typically mark and hoop the garments and give them to me to throw onto the machine (it’s just kind of a mojo that usually works for us), but just a couple weeks ago, I took the lead on a rather large batch of shirts for a dental office. I marked, I hooped, and I embroidered every single shirt- probably a couple dozen or so. And, whether I may say so or not, they all turned out pretty damned sharp. I haven’t heard from Tammy as to whether the dental group liked or disliked them, but since I haven’t yet heard they disliked them, I’m assuming that means they liked them.

Shut up- it’s my logic, I’m going with it.

So anyway, the point of this post is that the “spfldilstayhomedad” is no longer a stay-home dad, but he will still try to keep up with this blog. As always, sometimes the posts will be meaningful, insightful, or at least entertaining, and sometimes they won’t. I’m not a real writer. Hell, I’m not even a real embroiderer, but I actually get paid for that now!!

+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+|+

SHAMELESS PLUG ALERT: If you or anyone you know is in the market for scrubs, chefwear, or police/fire/EMS/tactical wear, please come in and see Tammy and Ally at Bright Star Scrubs & Uniforms, Inc. They are very knowledgeable about scrubs, and even if they don’t have what you’re looking for in stock, chances are extremely good they can order it in. Alterations, patching, and, of course, embroidery are available.

Come see us:

Bright Star Scrubs & Uniforms, Inc.
2205 W. Wabash Ave. (located just west of MCL Cafeteria)
Springfield, IL 62704
217-546-7310
217-546-7311 fax
Facebook page here.
Twitter: @BrightStarScrbs

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Marilyn permalink
    September 24, 2014 11:42 am

    I secretly crave chef pants! Hmmmm.
    Congratulations on your mad embroidery skilz, yo!

  2. Marjorie Stearns permalink
    September 24, 2014 7:24 pm

    So….what’s your work schedule?

  3. Peggy King permalink
    September 25, 2014 6:44 am

    good job and free advertising too. smart plk

Something to say?

